top of page

Top 12 Products of 2016

I fall in love so easily with makeup products. However, 2016 was a year of true love for me. True love for some amazing beauty buys. Here's a list of items that really stood out in 2016.

1. Too Faced Born This Way foundation This foundation has several reasons to stealing my heart in 2016. It's lightweight, and doesn't feel too heavy on the skin, which is essential when you live in a hot and humid climate like Hawaii. The consistency is fairly "in the middle". Not too thick, not too thin. It gives off a slightly dewy finish, with a medium coverage. Perfect for everyday makeup!

It retails for $39 for 1 oz of product. It comes in 18 shades (a shade for nearly anyone!). It comes with a pump (thank God!).

It's oil free.

2. Real Techniques® Miracle Complexion Sponge

I CANNOT justify spending $20 on a sponge. I'm sorry, I just can't. IT'S. A. SPONGE. I can, however, justify $6. This sponge, in my opinion, out-performs the beauty blender. It is just the right density to apply your foundation and concealer flawlessly. The flat edge is perfect for large areas like the forehead, and the precision tip gets into all the small nooks and crannies. It retails for $6. It comes in a multi-pack of 2 or 4.

3. Tarte™ Shape Tape Concealer

OH EM GEE! This concealer is totally worth all of the hype! I have to shout out my best friend Annie for snagging me this for Christmas. In such a short amount of time, I have fallen completely head over heels for this. It's a creamy, high-coverage concealer that doesn't crease. I use mine to highlight since I accidentally got mine a few shades too light (oops). However, it totally works for both. And rumor has it they're coming out with a foundation version of it! EEK!!

It retails for $24 for .34 oz.

It comes in 14 shades.

It has a doe foot applicator for easy application.

4. Anastasia Beverly Hills® Contour Kit

This kit has it all. A bronzer, 2 contour powders, a shimmer highlight, and 2 matte highlights. The powders aren't overly chalky, so this product will last you quite some time. It's extremely blendable and appears so natural on almost everyone. The highlighter in here is also lit! It retails for $40.

It comes in 3 shades.

Pan refills are available for $14 per pan.

5. MAC Pro Longwear Paint Pot in Painterly

Yeah, yeah, I know I'm late to the game. But better to show up now than never! Seriously, this stuff is bomb.com. I prime my lids, and pretty much all of my client's lids with this. It grips onto ANY eyelid, and creates a nice even base to work on. I especially recommend to anyone with oily eyelids. It has a wax-like consistency to grip onto any skin type and stay put all day. It retails for $22 for .17 oz.

It comes in any color you could possibly think of (seriously).

6. Makeup Geek Eyeshadows in Creme Brule and Peach Smoothie

I legitimately think it's impossible to create a perfect eye without at least one of these two shadows. Makeup geek's formula is INSANELY smooth and blendable. These two colors in particular I've found to be an essential in my makeup kit. I use Peach Smoothie all over the lid to create a smooth base to apply any shadow. I use Creme Brule in the crease to create a flawless gradient. And all of her shadows are this good! Seriously, you can't go wrong with these shadows. It retails for $6 per pan for .064 oz.

It comes in several different shades.

7. Kylie Cosmetics Kyshadow Bronze Palette

Ya'll, I'm a fan. I know there's been loads of controversy around her cosmetic line, and I'm not trying to get in the middle. But I do love this palette. The colors are highly pigmented, smooth, and easy to blend. I use the Topaz and Tiger's Eye in the crease (along with Creme Brule) to create a warm smoky eye. This is the only palette I've tried of hers, but if all of her shadows are of this quality, they're worth the hype!

It retails for $42 for 9 eyeshadows.

This palette contains 2 shimmers and 7 mattes.

8. Anastasia Beverly Hills® Modern Renaissance Palette

*heavy breathing* Do I need to say more?! Look at this palette! LOOK AT IT! It's incredible. The shadows are so buttery and smooth, and the payoff is out of this world. You can create almost any warm toned eye look with this palette. This product was love at first swatch. Can you blame me though?

It retails for $42 for 14 colors.

It comes with a dual ended brush (which is fab!).

It contains 3 shimmer shades and 11 matte shades.

9. MAC 224 Tapered Blending Brush

This brush is what dreams are made of. I don't know how I've gone my entire life without it. It blends out transition colors with a swipe. Again, I know I'm late jumping on the bandwagon. If you have ANY brush in your kit, this should be it.

It retails for $32.

10. Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

I'm honestly not one to buy high-end mascaras. I've always thought that there is something just as good at the drug store for a quarter of the cost. And I still do buy most of my mascaras from the drug store. But this one takes the cake. It's extremely volumizing without being too clumpy. It adds length to your lashes as well (but don't count on it as a lengthening mascara).

It retails for $32 for .27 oz.

It comes in a waterproof version as well!

11. Wet N' Wild Megalast Lip Color

These lipsticks are my everything. First of all, they're SUUUUPER cheap. Secondly, the pigmentation on them is insane. Third, they feel nothing on the lip. I can't say enough good about these lipsticks. I have almost every single color, and I've never been disappointed. They dry semi-matte, and last all day (or at least a few hours!).

They retail for $1.99!!!!!!!!!!!

They come in 26 shades (currently).

12. Skindinavia® The Makeup Primer and Setting Spray

If you haven't heard about Skindinavia's finishing spray- your world is about to get SHOOK. They are AMAZING! I recently discovered they have a primer spray which is, you guessed is, AMAZING! I personally have the regular primer spray, and the bridal setting spray. The primer spray has a slight cooling affect that makes your skin feel oh-so good. And the setting spray leaves a flawless finish to your makeup that WILL NOT budge. Seriously, I went to remove some eyeliner after I sprayed this, and it took quite a bit of elbow grease. I have always, and will always continue to recommend this brand to everyone I know.

The set retails for $50 ($29 for the Finishing spray on its own, and $35 for the primer) for 4 oz.

They come in 8 oz sizes.

What do you think of my top products of 2016? Did you have some of these items in your favorites as well? Leave me a comment, and tell me what you think of this list!

bottom of page